RSS Feed

A Bakewell Bonanza!

Until last week I had no idea what differentiated a cherry bakewell from a bakewell tart… it turns out they’re very similar… but one has cherries it it… duh! Well that was interesting wasn’t it!? So here’s some photos of nice tasty things:

Cherry BakewellI almost forgot to take a photo of these until I’d half eaten one! The recipe for these was like a half cupcake really… these were my faves of the two bakewell experiments. I made some vanilla butter-cream icing and mixed it with some cherry jam for the frosting… though it was a bit thick for my piping bag and I didn’t have any milk to thin it down.. so I just slapped it on the top with a spatula πŸ™‚

Bakewell Tarts

Now THESE … I am very proud of πŸ™‚ I took some round to my Nan’s house and she said my pastry was amazing. Commence me beaming with pride πŸ˜€ The recipe is slightly different for these, there is no flour just ground almonds which acts as the flour. It makes the texture quite different to the cherry bakewells, less… erm… well squidgy I suppose πŸ™‚ These were my guy’s faves… he LOVE almond flavour so I added a crap load more almond extract than the recipe called for just to make them even more almondy!

About cupcakerattleandroll

My friends think I'm trying to fatten them up 'cos I'm constantly making them eat all of the things I bake! CAKE IS LOVE PEOPLE!

Leave a Reply

